The origin of the name Saskatchewan derives from ‘kisiskatchewan’, a Plains Indian word meaning ‘the river that flows swiftly’ and refers to one of the Province’s major rivers.

Saskatchewan has a culturally diverse population of approximately 1,130,000 with 225,000 residing in the capital city, Regina and 275,000 living in its largest city, Saskatoon. There are 13 other cities within the region. Residents are made up mainly from those of Russian, Ukrainian, Polish, European, Scandinavian, British and Aboriginal descent.

The Province covers an area of over a quarter of a million square miles and consists of approximately 50% forest to the north, 35% agricultural land to the south and 15% fresh water. This is reflected in Saskatchewan’s flag which is green at the top and yellow across the bottom half. Its main industries are manufacturing, agriculture, mining and tourism. Saskatchewan is home to four major river systems which all flow into Hudson Bay, the North and South Saskatchewan rivers, the Churchill and the Assiniboine.

There are four distinct seasons in the Province. Mild spring weather normally arrives around the beginning of April in Saskatchewan where the summers are warm with little precipitation. The Province boasts more hours of sunshine than any other Canadian region. Top temperatures range from 15 C (60 F) in May to mid 30s C (90-95 F) in July and August. Winter normally begins in November and temperatures tend to remain below freezing.

Saskatchewan uses Central Standard Time which, dependent upon the time of year, is GMT -5 or -6 hours.